Having a large family means lots of clothes get recycled.  All good quality clothes are given to other home educators on our weekly free table swap, the ones which are not up to re-sharing, I rip them up to make carpets.  The children love ripping the material into strips!

First of all wash a bundle of un recyclable clothes, then cut them rip into strips about 1 inch wide. The children love ripping the material into strips!

image

image

Wrap the strips into 3 balls ready to plait.

image

Plait them together ( I trap them i between my knees)

image

Nb as you you run out of fabric lay the next strip on top about 1 inch into the plait.  When finished, or you want to have a break tie in a knot, so it does not undo.

Once you have a ball of plaited rags, lay the plaited fabirc on the floor and start to spiral anti clockwise.

image

image

Using a strong cotton, blanket stich each plait together, this is the back of the rug.

I find mine wrinkles a bit so I like to add a fabric backing I used old velvet curtain from when I was a little girl! Very 1970’s!! I just did a light stich all round the edge.  Hey presto a pretty bedside rug.

image

